Types Of Water Damage In Framingham

Did you know that water damage in your home can have different levels of contamination? Any level of pollution that compromises the safety of basic use can cause water to become labeled as contaminated. When contaminated water causes damage to your home,  it brings serious health risks with it. Before any water damage cleanup or restoration services can begin, it is important for a professional to identify the type of water you are dealing with so that proper gear and cleanup process is implemented. Since water damage is one of the most common homeowners insurance claims every year in Farmingham, it is important to understand the different types of water that could threaten your home (and your health). 

water damage in framingham

3 Categories of Water

Category 1 Water

Water is classified as Category 1 Water when it comes from a clean source. Faucets, water heaters, pipes, and toilet tanks are all examples of ‘clean sources.’. Category 1 water is termed ‘clean water’ because it is not known to carry any harmful contaminant. While generally harmless to your health, water damage from category 1 water can still cause quite a bit of harm to your home – especially if it is left to sit too long before cleanup or restoration begins. Category 1 water damage should be cleaned up as soon as possible to mitigate any further damage to your home.  

Category 2 Water

Category 2 water comes from a source that contains a significant degree of biological and chemical contaminants. This category of water can be harmful upon ingestion and with contact. Because of the harmful microorganisms it contains, this type of water is termed ‘gray water’. Some sources of gray water are toilet bowls not containing feces, seepage from hydrostatic failure, washing machines, showers, and dishwashers. Specific techniques paired with proper cleaning agents are required for adequate restoration of category 2 water damage. It is very important to avoid any contact with category 2 water, and make sure that trained professionals handle water damage restoration involving this type of water. 

Category 3 Water

The last category of water is definitely the most dangerous and the most dreaded. Category 3 water, or ‘black water;’ is grossly contaminated water. This type of water contains toxic pathogenic substances and harbors bacteria, chemicals, ground materials, and disease-causing organisms. Sources of category 3 water include sewage, toilet water containing feces, seawater, river water, and any other external source of flood water. Category 3 water is extremely dangerous to your health, and requires the use of personal protective gear along with specialized extraction, drying, dehumidification, and sanitization equipment and materials. Contact with this water may cause serious  and even life-threatening health effects. If your home has suffered damage from category 3 water, avoid the area at all costs. Only trained professionals with the proper safety equipment should attempt the restoration of this type of water damage. 

All water damage events are unique. You may see some similarities, but no water damage events are the same. With the proper training, equipment, certification, and protection, the technicians at MA Restoration have the experience to determine the type of water damage your Framingham home has received. Then, with proper inspection, we will be able to determine the best course of action for your home and begin the restoration process as soon as possible  – ensuring that all safety measures are met and followed. Because the 3 water damage categories have different levels of danger and damage, it is important to let experienced professionals handle all water damage services regardless of the cause. Let MA Restoration put your mind, and your home, at ease following any type of water damage.